This is a meme that’s hosted every Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish and the theme for this week is the top ten things that will instantly make me not want to read a book.

I gotta say, there’s not much out there that will make me not want to read a book, so this list may be a bit on the short side this week.

  1. Romance stories. I’m not a romance reader, even in real life I’m not into the whole romance thing, so can be put off reading a book if it sounds like it’s going to be a romance.
  2. Historical non-fiction books. I think my dislike for historical non-fiction came from attempting to read The Duchess by Amanda Foreman. To this day I still haven’t finished reading it, it was just so dryly written it made her life sound incredibly boring and so why would I want to read a book about it?
  3. Textbooks. I’ve had to read a fair share of textbooks through uni and I gotta say, nowadays there’s not much that will make me voluntarily pick up a textbook and read it.
  4. Book cover. I know, don’t judge a book by it’s cover, but there are covers out there that are well-designed and will make me instantly want to read a book, and ones out there that I look at and think “boring” and so they don’t really inspire me to read them.
  5. Crappy sex scenes. Just once, it would be nice to read a book that has realistic sex scenes. Books like Fifty Shades of Grey read like the author has never had sex and is just imaging how magical it’s going to be. I want to read awkwardness and sticky, squelching noises. Ok maybe not that, but something real, you know what I mean? Otherwise it just kinda makes me roll my eyes and not want to read it anymore, and in fact I did stop reading the Fifty Shades for that reason. Just, ugh, is all I can say.

I can’t think of any other reasons off the top of my head for why I wouldn’t read a book so I might just stick with this list of five for now.

What did you have on your Top Ten list this week?

blog-signature

| Follow me | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

