The Sword of the TemplarsThe Story

John Holliday is an old soldier who teaches history at an Army college. When his uncle passes away, Holliday and his niece Peggy, find a sword wrapped in Adolf Hitler’s personal battle standard. When his uncle’s house is burnt down in an attempt to retrieve the sword they are both pulled in to a world chase to find out why people want to kill them to retrieve the sword.

Thoughts

I both liked and disliked this book. I liked it because the action was there, the puzzles and mysteries were there, plus a few history and random factoid lessons. To me, that makes a light entertaining read. I also liked the characters, Holliday and Peggy, they complemented each other really well. Holliday a bit rough around the edges and then Peggy is a bit more out there, sometimes more sensitive and has a more sarcastic wit to counter Holliday’s dry wit.

What I didn’t like though is a couple of things, one rather big. What the hell was the book about? I’m still not really sure I know. Someone is trying to kill them over a sword, but why? Does it have magical powers or some other kind of significance? Is it just that it was Hitler’s and reminded old Nazi’s of his power? Can someone please explain? Maybe I just read it so quickly I didn’t absorb some key points or something, I’m not sure.

The other thing was that they were flitting all around the world and throwing money around like it was nothing. I mean who just has the money laying around to jet set on a whim like that? Especially as a teacher and a photographer?

Anyway, I liked the book enough that I’ll read the next one in the series, and hopefully I’ll be able to get a bit more out of the story and understand what the story is about.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

