OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received one of these bars in the March Vegan Box.

This is a healthy paleo snack that is quite likely suitable for many lunch boxes. It contains apricots and coconut, both sulphur free (I never knew that was a thing!) as well as almonds and ginger. It’s gluten free, dairy free, soy free and has all the other ticks you’d expect for a good hippie vegan product. Although does come with a warning to chew carefully just in case there’s a seed shell or fragment that remains…and also claims to take similar to an ANZAC biscuit.

First up, I’m sorry but nothing tastes like an ANZAC biscuit except for an ANZAC biscuit! This bar was no exception. Just because it has coconut in it and ANZAC bickies also have coconut in them does not mean their taste is similar!

Ok, I’ll get off my high horse now that I’ve had my say…

The bar is tasty enough, has a sweet flavour to it that isn’t too sweet. It is soft and a bit chewy, although you definitely do have to chew with care. As I found out the hard way when my teeth clanged on hard bits a couple of times. It does have a nice hint of ginger to it which I think is what really makes the flavour of this bar, if it didn’t have that in it, it would probably be a bit too bland.

Would I buy this again? I’m not so sure. If I had kids I wouldn’t buy it for them, I’d be a bit worried about the cracking a tooth on an unsuspecting hard bit of seed shell or something. But it is tasty which is a bonus. So if you want to give it a go, you can purchase it direct from Blue Dinosaur for $39.95 for a pack of 12 bars, which is just over $3 per bar so a bit on the pricey side in my opinion.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

