OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received a full-size packet of this seasoning in the March Vegan Box. I’m not much of a dip girl so I explored the Spice Trading Co website for alternative ways to use this product.

Fortunately this product is not just a mixer for a dip, you can also use it as a seasoning for a whole array of different things from fajitas, lasagne, breakfast eggs, seasoning for meat…the list just goes on, so it is really versatile which is great. The other great thing about this product is that it’s all natural, gluten free and has no added salt or sugar.

I used this spice mix in a vegetarian lasagne. It was pretty basic, just a can of diced tomatoes, tomato paste, vegetarian stock mix, plus onion, garlic, carrots, mushrooms and black beans. And of course the Holy Chilli Guacamole mix. To give you an idea, I made a big enough batch that I can get about 6 servings from it. And yum, it’s pretty damn tasty! You can definitely taste the chilli in it, it leaves just enough after burn in your mouth so that you know you’ve just had a chilli hit! Maybe a little odd for a lasagne, I don’t think I’ve ever had a spicy one before but I’m quite enjoying it.

The only drawback about this in my opinion is the cost and the ingredients. You can pick up a packet of this direct from Spice Trading Co for $4.95 for a 25g sachet which is what I got, and used the entire thing in the lasagne. But, the ingredients, it’s all stuff I have in my cupboard already and it certainly wouldn’t cost anywhere near $4.95 to put together my own mix. So I’d suggest unless you’re feeling really lazy and want someone else to balance the mix of spice for you, just stick with what you have in the cupboard.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

 

