The easiest way to save an animal is to not put it in your mouth.

– Damien Mander

Last night I went to a talk given by Damien Mander who is the Founder and CEO of the International Anti-Poaching Foundation (IAPF).

Damien is a very down to earth Aussie bloke who was floating through life until he went on a journey in Africa and learnt about all of the poaching in Africa and decided to actually get in there and do something about it. So he founded the International Anti-Poaching Foundation.

The IAPF are a frontline charity, they are there on the ground preventing poachers from killing rhino and elephants. The charity focuses on conservation through direct action. Basically having someone standing there in between the rhino or elephant and the poacher that is trying to kill it. A very dangerous and very worthwhile role to be playing in the conservation of these animals.

It was really inspiring to hear his journey and everything that he has accomplished in the last seven or so years. One quote from him last night that really stuck with me was about saving animals…by not eating them. That’s the easiest way to save one. By not contributing to their slaughter by eating them. I’ve been doing my best to be vegetarian (admittedly I’ve had the occasional schnitzel), but after that simple comment, it just really struck me that yes I want to give up meat entirely. Sorry, that includes you schnitty!

I would also love to give more actively involved with IAPF. They have the Green Army where you can actually go over to Africa and work with them for a time being and I think I’m going to save my pennies and do that for my next “holiday”.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

