f982c470c2d1e6dc2b405fd16a49e41f

If someone smiles at you, a happy, genuine smile, what do you do? You smile back of course!

The power of a simple thing like a smile really hit me when I was in Rwanda recently. I was driving through a village with my tour group and per usual people would watch as the vehicle drove by. Children would wave and yell “mzungu” as we drove by.

There was one point, I saw and older, grey-haired man, warily watching the car drive by and we locked eyes. I don’t know why but it just seemed like time slowed and there was a pregnant pause as we looked at each other and then I offered him a smile and a wave, and this big, happy grin spread over his whole face. Which made me smile more… and then the car moved on.

I don’t know why, but that moment of connection with another human being really reminded me of the power just smiling at someone can have.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

