17212231Robert Langdon wakes up in a hospital in Italy and can’t remember the last few days. He’s drawn into a search for something, he’s not quite sure what, only that it has to do with Dante’s Inferno and the end of the world as we know it.

One of the things I like about Brown’s books is that there is always something happening. Very rarely is there a slow point in the stories, which is good. I also like that Brown writes twists into the stories, so just when you think you know the direction the story is taking, it can turn on its head and go elsewhere. It all makes for a very entertaining read.

The thing I didn’t really like about this book is some of the inaccuracies. There’s a note at the beginning that says everything in the book is based on reality, so Dante’s Inferno is a real thing, obviously, the death mask, paintings, you name it, all of them are real. Which is wonderful and I love it when writers do that, however the interpretation of each piece is subject to the author and how it ties into their story, which is not so wonderful. Now, I don’t know much about Dante’s Inferno, but I do know something about Darwin’s “survival of the fittest” and this was sprouted a couple of times in the book and completely misunderstood. Like seriously, even a simple Google search will explain what “fit” means in evolutionary terms.

Anyway, despite that I still find the Robert Langdon books are a bit of a guilty pleasure and if I don’t buy into the authors interpretation of artefacts then they’re a simple, enjoyable read.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

