OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received one of these bliss balls in the January Vegan Box. I usually think of bliss balls as tiny little things that aren’t really filling, but this one was actually a decent size.

This berrylicious flavour bliss ball contains dried blueberries and acai powder. The website seems pretty keen on letting people know each bliss ball contains 1.5g of acai powder. I’m guessing that’s a good thing, but I have no clue!

Anyway, the blueberries and acai powder provide a rich source of antioxidants. The hazelnuts and cashew nuts are “activated” which means they’re soaked in water, apple cider vinegar and sea salt for 12 hours, then dried at a low temp for 48 hours. This apparently destroys any anti-nutrients and makes them tastier and more digestible.

Ok, is it just me, but when reading that back it sounds like a whole lot of bullshit? Except for maybe the tasty part…

Moving on… I ate the bliss ball and it was pretty tasty actually, had a nice rich berry flavour. It was moist, a little sticky maybe, but surprisingly filling given the size. I mean it was bigger than other bliss balls I’ve seen that you might have three of as a serving, and more filling than them as well. All up, I would probably treat myself to this sweet snack every now and then, it was definitely tasty enough.

That is, if it wasn’t for the extortionate price. You can buy this direct from the Food To Nourish website for $3.95 for one, or $34.95 for a pack of 10. Personally, I’d rather roll my own bliss balls for that price!

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

 

