7980937Egypt is controlled by the Hyksos, who have turned Egyptians into their slaves. Only Ahhotep, her husband Seqen and a few trusted comrades in the city of Thebes are willing to stand against the Hyksos and fight for Egypt’s freedom. But the Hyksos are everywhere, will their plight be successful?

I admit I have a soft spot for ancient Egypt. The culture, the beliefs, I find it incredibly fascinating, so I was looking forward to reading a story that was based on real people and real events. The book had three main points of view, that of the Hyksos, that of Ahhotep and her loyal followers, and that of the rebel gang. The story itself, that was proposed by the synopsis, was a really interesting one and had so much potentially…

Unfortunately, the best way to describe this book is that it was written like a dry, boring textbook. It was matter of fact, there was no eloquence, nothing to get the reader excited. Such potential, and just wasted by terrible writing. One thing that didn’t gel for me was the use of magic. When that popped up I was a bit like “huh?” because I was reading this like a historical story, based on actual fact, and I didn’t think actual fact included magic. I understand that perhaps certain events may have played out a particular way to make the characters believe magic happened, but when we’re talking a staff with glowing eyes, or a rod growing hot and burning someone’s hand, it didn’t quite sit right. That could have entirely been because of the way the book was written, like a textbook. If it had been more eloquent and exciting then magic may well have fit right in.

This book is the first book in a series called Queen of Freedom. Honestly, as much as I don’t like leaving things unfinished, I don’t think I will continue this series.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

