113435This is the tenth book in the Wheel of Time series, and in this book we see an update on just about each of the main characters. We see Mat and his journey with the Daughter of the Nine Moons, the Seanchan princess he’s destined to marry, Perrin is still hunting for his wife, and trying to find food for his army. Egwene and Elayne are both in the middle of politics trying to secure their respective power. And Rand, he’s just cleansed the male half of the One Power from the taint, but will that necessarily reverse the madness he’s feeling?

Normally, after the description of the book I like to write something positive, something that I liked about the book. And while I didn’t dislike this book, I did find that nothing really happened. So it wasn’t exactly a riveting read. The most interesting part was the politics Egwene and Elayne were playing at, although even that was minimal. Actually, one thing I did kinda like was that Alviarin might be found out. But then that also means that Elaida turns back into a right bitch and I’m not sure that’s preferable to Alviarin pulling the strings!

Don’t get me wrong, the Wheel of Time is my favourite series and I love the characters. I just felt this book was a bit lacking in the plot area. It felt like it was mostly checking in on everyone, like hey how you going? But no part of the storyline for any of the characters actually progresses. So it was like nearly 700 pages of not much at all.

If you have been reading the series but haven’t read this book, then you could just about skip this book and move on to the next one. You’re not going to miss any core revelations. If you are reading this book at the moment, don’t be disheartened and give up, it does get better!

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

