OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received a packet of these kale chips in the December Vegan Box. I’d previous had the Ceres Organics Coconut Smiles and they were pretty good, so I was interested to see how the ‘cheesy’ kale chips would go.

These kale chips are basically pieces of dried kale, dried at low temperatures below 47 degrees Celsius. They’re dusted with a cashew, onion salt and nutritional yeast mix. The yeast mix is what gives them the cheesy flavour. It’s a really healthy snack being kale so is good for dietary fibre and is over 20% protein.

One word. Eeewwwwww!

Admittedly I can be a bit iffy when it comes to kale, it has a really strong flavour almost reminds me of spinach. So in order to stomach such a strong flavour, it needs to be mixed with other flavours that will tame it a bit. Unfortunately this just does not do it. The other thing I didn’t like was the texture. It was dried pieces of kale, so was dry and prickly in the mouth and reminded me of eating dried crackly leaves that have fallen off a tree in autumn.

This is not a snack for me and not one that I will be buying. If you like kale though, you might like these. You can pick them up from an online grocer like La Vida Vegan Grocery for $6.50 for a 40g bag.

blog-signature

| Follow me |  Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

