OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received a single serving of this Vegan Egg in the November Vegan Box. Though it doesn’t sound particularly exciting, this one can be used to make scrambled “egg” which is not something I’ve come across before with an egg replacer.

This is an egg replacer that can be used to make omelettes or scrambled eggs, woohoo! Of course it can also be used for baking, cakes, muffins and cookies, you name it. It’s completely plant based so is good for the environment in many different ways.

It took me a while to get up the courage to use this I have to admit. I spent ages trying to decide what to do with it. Should I bake muffins? Should I make pancakes? Should I do scrambled eggs? In the end I decided to make like an omelette crossed with scrambled eggs so that I could get a good idea of the flavour and the texture.

To make the egg you mix it with chilled water, well you whisk or blend it actually. I just went with a whisk but I’d suggest trying a blender instead as that might get rid of the lumps a bit better. I poured the mix into a preheated pan and started scrambling the eggs and then put in some pre-cooked potato, peas and I admit I also added some cheese!

It turned into a bit of a glop really, all just kinda congealed together. But it was tasty enough. It did have an eggy flavour and the texture wasn’t too far off that of scrambled eggs. Probably a bit smoother, a bit more like chewing silk than the usual egg is. Overall though I didn’t mind it and would use it again, I wouldn’t mind trying baking with it to see how it’s works in that context.

If you would like to try it out, you can get some from The Cruelty Free Shop for $16.30 for a pack that is equivalent to 10-12 eggs. So it is hugely more expensive than buying a dozen eggs that’s for sure. But if you want to substitute eggs in baking or other cooking then this is a good option.

blog-signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

