OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received one of these snack bars in the November Vegan Box. I’m a bit hesitant about these health bars as too often I find, there’s a focus on the health side which is great, but they forget all about the flavour…

These apple and supersede bites have a range of ingredients from apple, figs, cinnamon and seeds like chia, sesame and pumpkin. This provides high protein and fibre as well as being a source of vitamins and minerals. They are also vegan, have no preservatives or any other nasties, no dairy or lactose and are gluten free as well.

Unfortunately, it tastes like shit. This is one of those occasions where there it seems like there was a huge focus on how many healthy “superfoods” can be jammed in one tiny bar that no one bothered to taste test it. I took one small bite and was like ugh this isn’t very nice, then took a second bite just to be sure, and then threw the rest in the bin. I can’t even begin to explain the flavour, it was bitter and bland at the same time. There was no sweetness from the figs or cinnamon. It was just…ugh, is the only way I can really explain it.

If I’ve got you curious about the flavour and you just can’t help yourself and have to see if it really is that bad, you can buy it from the Soma Bite website for $29.00 for a box of 12 bars. But honestly, nothing to see here, move along.

blog-signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

 

