OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I received a sample pack of this tea mix in the November Vegan Box. I love tea, but I have to admit when I got it and looked at it, I thought it was seasoning for food!

This is a turmeric based “tea”. I say tea in quotations because there is actually no tea in it, it’s a blend of spices that you make into a latte using milk like coconut milk, or even cows milk will work. The likes of almond milk are too watery to be made into a proper latte apparently. In this Golden Grind Hero blend, the follows spices are present: turmeric, cinnamon, ginger, black pepper and magic.

Yes, that’s right, magic. I’m not gonna lie it sounds like hippie bullshit, and if you read the Golden Grind website you might agree with me. It’s supposed to have huge health benefits, from anti-inflammation properties, anti-fungal, antibacterial, antioxidant… you get the idea. And of course it’s all the rage in Melbourne right now!

I made one latte from the sachet and still have some more of the spices left over, but one was enough. It tastes almost like you’re trying to drink a curry…only not. That’s the best way I can put it! It has a very strong flavour, the sweetness of the cinnamon is not at all present. It’s very much a savoury drink that tastes like drinking food instead of eating it. Which definitely isn’t for me. So personally, I won’t be purchasing this product.

If you want to give it a go, you can buy it from the Golden Grind website for $19.99 for a 100gm bag which will give you about 40 serves. Or, if you prefer to try before you buy, go to your spice cupboard and use your own “magic” to combine a teaspoon of all of these spices and save yourself a buck.

blog-signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

