This is a meme that’s hosted every Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish and the theme for this week is books you have read because of a recommendation, either from another blogger, your bookclub, a friend, a magazine review, anything really.

My list is probably going to be a mishmash of all of those, so here goes!

1. Puberty Blues by Kathy Lette and Gabrielle Carey

779126

Kinda recommended when a lady from work mentioned one of the characters in the book was based on her.

2. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

18131

A friend recommended the series to me, thought I’d enjoy the story and I kinda did but the target audience was young kids rather than adults so it wasn’t quite adult-y enough for me!

3. The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Lencioni

21343

A colleague recommended this to me and it has some great ideas just hard to see them actually working in real life, you know?

4. The Giver by Lois Lowry

3636

Another recommendation by a work friend, and oh my gosh I loved this book.

5. Cage of Lies series by Susanne Valenti

26731477

I saw a recommendation for this series on a blog and as it turned out the author was giving away ARCs in exchange for an honest review. It’s a great series, very on the edge of your seat action packed!

6. Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell

5471

I can’t remember who recommended this to me, but I’m glad they did. It’s a good read on fearful domination of the world and how that operates and kills society basically.

7. Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

47626

Recommended by a friend, for a younger target audience but still an enjoyable look at a dystopian society if all the adults disappeared.

8. Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A Heinlein

350

I don’t know that this deserves top ten placement, it was an interesting read about a man growing up on Mars and then coming to Earth and the social adjustment and learning for him and the rest of the world. It didn’t wow me, but it was interesting.

I’m probably going to leave my list there I think. I didn’t really start focusing on other people’s recommendations until the last year or so, and that’s where all these books have sprung from so I don’t really have any recommended books from before that!

What did you have on your Top Ten list this week?

blog-signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

