13891Winter’s Heart is the ninth book in the Wheel of Time series. In this book there’s a lot and nothing that happens at the same time. Faile is missing and so of course Perrin falls apart and loses his shit. Rand and Min are on the run, Taim is a lying POS. One exciting part is that Mat finally meets the Daughter of the Nine Moons and it’s not who he expects at all and the most exciting part of all was that Rand cleansed the male half of the Power.

What I really liked about this book is the ending of course where Rand cleansed the male half of the Power. It was a really exciting scene, people died, sadly some good guys, but no one we really know.. and maybe one or two of the Forsaken. I also really like the change you start to see in Nynaeve, she starts to become a strong leader in this book. Still a bit young and childish sometimes but overall, I’m liking the change.

I didn’t like what happened to Perrin though. He just turned into a complete mess. I mean kinda understandable you’d be devastated and what to go after her. But don’t neglect your responsibilities while you’re at it and alienate all those who are trying to help you. It was also quite a slow story I think. Lots of flitting around and narration without much happening. And then apparently things happening behind the scenes and the reader not seeing anything except the end result. By that I mean WTF is with the Aes Sedai and their Asha’man warders? I don’t even remember that happening and then during and after the cleansing saidin scene I got the distinct impression there was going to be a lot of baby making behaviour if you get what I mean.

So not the best put together Wheel of Time book in the series but the ending definitely made up for what it lacked to get there.

Blog signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

