1114929This book tells the story about an extremely overweight young woman named Jamie who is quite aware that she is fat, fat, fat. She writes for the school newspaper and tells about her life with her boyfriend who’s undergoing gastric banding, and the issues that come up with that. It deals with other teen issues like clothing fashion and how she manages her newspaper column getting fame in the local and national news.

I’m not sure why I picked this book up and read it. I think it was because I was curious as to how a writer would tell a story like that from an overweight young woman’s perspective. In high school I was friends with a girl who was really fat and she was a bit like the girl in this book. She could be one hell of a cool, fierce chick, but she was also incredibly defensive, angry and self-conscious. As much as she, like the girl in the book professed how comfortable she was with her own body, her actions and words spoke thousands. She was not happy but didn’t want to admit it to herself.

This book was confronting, and it made me uncomfortable and completely turned my head around in circles. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing for a book to do! Nevertheless it was an interesting take on the perspective of an overweight person, and some of the issues they may experience.

The plot was rather thin though, I didn’t find that Jamie really learned any life lessons or changed. It was just more like a sequence of events that happened, but with no end goal. Would I recommend reading it? No, probably not. There was too much angry and raging at, well, anyone who wasn’t Jamie.

Blog signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube |

