This is a meme that’s hosted every Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish and the theme for this week is books that I would buy right now if someone gave me a loaded gift card.

So there’s a little something you need to know about me. I have a massive TBR list. But if someone gives me a gift card, I wouldn’t necessarily go out and buy the books that are on my TBR list that I don’t already own. Instead I would go to the bookstore find the cheapest selection of books and try and find some gold nuggets in them.

Let’s use Booktopia as an example for this Top Ten and pretend I have a voucher for it. What I would do is go to their website and click on the Sale link if there’s a sale going on, or go to Bargains, select the books category “reduced to clear” and then filter the results by Price Low to High. There will be a lot of crap to sift through, and adult erotica if that’s your thing, but you can find some good books in amongst all that.

1. The Beast by Ann Evans ($1.95)

the-beast

The first book in a series I’d guess about maybe a werewolf or something that is frightening a family on holidays.

2. Corsair by Tim Severin ($1.95)

xcorsair.jpg.pagespeed.ic.dwQpoXfqL5

Slave traders, Africa, stranded people, can they ever escape, or will they escape to something worse?

3. The Lotus Eaters by Marianne MacDonald ($1.95)

the-lotus-eaters

I think I may have purchased this book actually. It’s about a small time actress who is stunning but perhaps falls in and out of love too quickly and so destroys relationships with everyone.

4. Reavers’ Ransom by Emily Diamond ($1.95)

reavers-ransom

There wasn’t much in the blurb about this book, just to say the Prime Minister’s daughter is kidnapped by the Reavers and Lilly’s village is blamed so she takes a talking jewel to help bring her back. Talking jewel, interesting/weird idea.

5. invisible i: The Amanda Project by Stella Lennon ($1.95)

invisible-i

This sounds like it might be a bit like Pretty Little Liars, although maybe the book will be better written than the PLL ones.

6. Love Dreams by Denise Colby ($1.95)

love-dreams

These aren’t normally books I’d pick but probably reflects my current state, having just come out of a long term relationship and finding solace in books about relationships and lovers.

7. Flying South by L M Elliott ($2.50)

xflying-south.jpg.pagespeed.ic.lYe1Kq3jr-

This is a coming of age story set in 1968, it’s about a girl who seems pretty isolated actually and her only friend is the family gardner. Which sounds a bit uhh creepy when you think about it.

8. The Hunting Season by Dean Vincent Carter ($2.50)

Screen Shot 2016-08-02 at 1.20.04 PM

A supernatural thriller by the sounds. Starting a few years ago when something killed Gerontius’ parents (Really? Gerontius? Who names their kid that?). Now several years later, something is hunting Gerontius.

9. Diablerie by Walter Mosley ($2.50)

diablerie

Tells the story about a married guy who meets a chick and seems to have wisps of a memory about a terrible night in 1979. And did it actually happen or was it a dream?

10. Far North by Marcel Theroux ($2.50)

xfar-north.jpg.pagespeed.ic.TpJVGPW15B

This sounds like it may be a post-apocalyptic town and tells the story of humanity’s attempt at surviving and probable fail at doing so.


I hope you enjoyed my Top Ten this week. What did you put on your list?

Blog signature

| Follow me | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram |

