18131A Wrinkle in Time is the first book in the quintet of the same name and tells the story of Meg Murray and her younger brother Charles Wallace’s hunt through space and time to save their father with the help of their friend Calvin and a few seemingly old ladies. Will they be able to find their father and survive all the evils they encounter along the way?

When I first heard about this book I didn’t realise it was actually a kids book. The storyline seemed too involved for a kids book, and I thought maybe it was more of a young adult book. But it is definitely a kids book. And an incredibly well written one at that. The story was a bit more involved and there were some “bigger” words used in it than you would see in a Goosebumps book for example. That was part of the charm. If I had know about these books growing up I would have been all over them. The children are all smart, some in their own way, and they use those smarts to help them on their journey. Plus the witches or are they former stars/suns, and other worldly beings help make this book a bit more fun for the kids as well.

I can’t think of anything that I didn’t like about this book. In saying that though I don’t feel like I need to continue with the series as the book wrapped itself up really well at the end. I think that is more of a reflection on the fact that, despite everything it is still a kids book and so was a bit too light on for my tastes.

If you have kids who like books that are a bit meatier to sink their teeth into then I’d encourage you in getting them to read these. Or even listen to the audiobook which is what I did. The lady who reads the audiobook is superb, she does wonderful different voices for each of the characters which will keep the kids imaginations entertained!

