toptentuesday

This is a meme that’s hosted every Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish and the theme for this week is books that are underrated.

The basis for this is Goodreads, and any books that are on your reading list that have less than 2000 ratings. I have a whole list of books on my “to be read” list that have less than 2000 ratings, but because I haven’t been using Goodreads for that long, there aren’t too many on that list that I have actually read that have less than 2000 ratings. So I’ll just lump them all together and see where we end up!

1. Pole Dancer by Nikki St John: 18 ratings

23582405

I haven’t read this book, but I do want to read it because I’m a pole dancer and I’m kinda interested in seeing how St John tells a story about that.

2. Looking Glass Lives by Felice Picano: 32 ratings

712597

I haven’t read this one but chose it to expand my reading horizons as it’s a gay lit book and I’ve not read one before.

3. Linked (Cage of Lies #2) by Susanne Valenti: 36 ratings

27141878

I received an ARC of this book from the author for an honest review. It’s a young adult, dystopian series, full of action and a bit of drama and I loved it.

4. Chained (Cage of Lies #1) by Susanne Valenti: 71 ratings

26731477

I received the ARC from the author for an honest review, and also really loved the first book as well. There have been another 2 or 3 books in the series released since then and all of them have been great reads.

5. Welcome Home, Jellybean by Marlene Fanta Shyer: 183 ratings

1494945

I haven’t read this one but was intrigued by it as it tells the story about a child who spent most of their life in an institution for the mentally disabled and goes home for the first time and has to adjust to life there.

6. The House of Dust and Dreams by Brenda Reid: 221 ratings

9104857

I am reading this book at the moment. It’s a love affair set in World War 2 in a little Grecian village. It started a bit slow but it is soft and descriptive and I’m quite enjoying it so far.

7. A Connecticut Fashionista in King Arthur’s Court by Mari Mancusi: 298 ratings

75032

I read this book first years and years ago. It’s a frivolous and fun book about a fashion queen having to survive back in King Arthur’s court. A nice easy read.

8. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas by Jules Verne: 613 ratings

7085072

How is it that this book only has 613 ratings?! I have read this book, and it was ok, very descriptive with really not much of a plot to it. But just between you and me, seems to be normal for books written around then, so I don’t tend to enjoy them much, shh!

9. Puberty Blues by Kathy Lette and Gabrielle Carey: 1008 ratings

779126

I haven’t read this book yet, but it’s on my list because one of the characters in the book is actually based on a lady that I work with. It’s about the lives of teenagers and their relationships with friends, family and each other.

10. Big Fat Manifesto by Susan Vaught: 1062 ratings

1114929

I haven’t read this yet, but it’s about a very large girl who writes a column in the high school paper every week and how she copes with her size. I chose this book because it is written by a psychotherapist who has also had weight issues and so I thought it might be interesting to see how she uses this in the story.

